You are here
Home > Football > Copa America > Copa America Centenario 2016

Copa America Centenario 2016

Copa America Centenario 2016
    • In June 2016, the United States will host the Copa America Centenario- the 1st Copa America to be hosted outside South America.


    • In commemoration of the 100 year anniversary of South America’s most prestigious international competition, the 2016 Copa America will be hosted by US Soccer, CONMEBOL & CONCACAF as a one-off tournament.


    • This is a special edition of Copa America, hence the name Copa America Centenario. The next tournament will take place in Brazil in 2019.


    • 16 teams will be competing, with all 10 CONMEBOL (the South American football confederation) federations joined by six CONCACAF countries (the football confederation for North and Central America and the Caribbean) including United States & Mexico.


    • The most Copa America titles have been won by Uruguay – 15 times. Argentina is second with 14 titles.


    • Ecuador& Venezuela are the only two CONMEBOL countries that have never won the tournament.


    • The tournament opener on June 3 will be hosted at Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, California when USA will take on Colombia.


    • MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey will be hosting the final on June 26.


    • This is the single biggest sporting event in the United States since the 1994 FIFA World Cup.


    • Uruguay has played in the Copa America the most times, with 42 appearances.


    • Throughout the years 725 games have been played in the Copa America.


  • United States and Mexico were automatic selections. Costa Rica, Panama, Jamaica and Haiti earned berths via tournaments and playoffs.

One thought on “Copa America Centenario 2016

Leave a Reply