You are here
Home > Football > 7-point history of the Merseyside Derby

7-point history of the Merseyside Derby

 Merseyside Derby

1. It is the longest running top-flight derby in England, having been played at that level since the 1962–63 season.


2. Everton actually played at Anfield, now Liverpool’s ground, before a rent dispute with the ground owners saw Everton relocate to Goodison Park and the formation of Liverpool F.C.


3. Liverpool and Everton have played 225 times, with Liverpool winning 88, Everton winning 66 and 71 matches ending in a draw.


4. In the Premier League era, the clubs have faced off 47 time, of which Liverpool have won 19, Everton have won 9 and the other 19 resulting in draws.


5. The longest unbeaten run in the mersyside derby of 14 matches is held by Everton. This was between the 1941–42 and 1951–52 seasons.


6. Neville Southall of Everton has the most Mersyside Derby appearances to his name – 41


7. With 25 goals, Liverpool legend Ian Rush is the top scorer in the Mersyside Derby.

Leave a Reply